top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLucy Alejandro

"Wrap it Up!" Ending Single-Use Plastics in the Kitchen

It can be tough reducing waste in a time-pressed, convenience-addicted world. Here's a few simple ways to cut down on single-use plastics for a more sustainable kitchen.


On my bus ride to school, I was disconcerted to notice something that had been right under my nose all these years. My bus route travels on I-66, and if you look closely at the grassy median, debris and plastics litter the grass. Strangely, I had never noticed this on my daily bus ride.


Now I can't un-see it.


Lesson learned? You can see the detrimental effects of human activity if you just take a moment and really look around in your own community. To me, the poster child for unsustainability is single-use, non-recyclable plastics like plastic wrap, produce bags, and grocery bags.


Here are a few plastic-reducing methods that work for my family and may work for you! I'm not 100% waste free, but a reasonable goal for all of us is to find any alternatives and creative ways to reduce our plastic waste.


Plastic Bags Alternatives

(I've included links to Amazon)



3. Reusable shopping bags

Get creative! If you already have plastic shopping bags in your house, save and reuse them. Stores like Target and Whole Foods Market and reward 5 to 10 cents per reusable bag a customer brings. Most stores sell their own branded reusable bags, but any old tote bag works well, too.


Plastic Wrap Alternatives







You can also consider:

1. Cloth napkins vs paper at meal times

2. Reusable utensils and dish ware for packing lunches

3. Buy in bulk vs individually wrapped snacks

4. Reusable water bottles


Do you have any other ideas? Please share a comment on my page!

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page